New Jacket, I want to wear this now

In anticipation for spring, (we’ve got a ways to go) I decided to work on a lighter 18th century jacket to wear at Heritage events in warmer weather. My plan is to make two cotton petticoats (skirts), a jacket, and quilted jumps (waistcoat) as a starter wardrobe to wear this year.

I decided to put the patterns that I received for Christmas to use. I made the View A with the ruffles in the back from a striped cotton/linen. It was very easy to make.

1750s Jacket patterns

1750s Jacket patterns

The pattern instructions say to make a separate lining but I decided to try out the period technique that has the lining and fashion fabric sewn together in one step. It was super fast and easy to do.

I really like the winged cuffs and ruffles on this jacket

I really like the winged cuffs and ruffles on this jacket

Front view of the spring jacket.

Front view of the spring jacket.

I used the one-step lining technique with French seams at the sides. Burgundy cotton sheets soon to be my new petticoat

I used the one-step lining technique with French seams at the sides. Burgundy cotton sheets soon to be my new petticoat

I wonder why modern patterns don’t use the one-step lining technique. Perhaps because one would have to disassemble the entire jacket to make alterations. I figured I could solve this issue by doing French seams on the sides that way I could make common side alterations easily.

I liked this style so much that I went and found a modern version of it.
Vogue 1132 Here I come!

I want this jacket now. Vogue 1132

I want this jacket now. Vogue 1132

Leave a Reply

