Sewing

Butterick 5030 Golden Wrap dress

I just love a wrap top. For years I’ve wanted a wrap dress but for some reason or another I haven’t owned one until now. The pattern I used is Butterick 5030. It has lots of sleeve and collar variations. I had a golden floral challis fabric in my stash from long ago that was destined for this type of dress. I chose to sew view C with the flared sleeve and a narrow sash.

Butterick 5030 pattern
Butterick 5030 pattern

This pattern sewed up without a fuss. I only made my typical alteration at the side waist. The front facing is drafted nicely with a curve so there is no gaping. The wrap skirt is generous with no peek-a-boo knee issues.

I used my sewing machine and overcast foot instead of serger this time. I don’t know why I hadn’t tried it sooner. I kind of like the look better than the serger narrow hem.

I used my sewing machine overcast stitch to finish the seams and hem
I used my sewing machine overcast stitch to finish the sleeves and hem
Butterick 5030 view C
Butterick 5030 view C

 

Butterick 5030
Butterick 5030

I would definately like to sew this one a again.

2 thoughts on “Butterick 5030 Golden Wrap dress”

  1. That is very, very pretty, both the pattern and the fabric you used. I do love wraps, but haven’t tried one yet either. I don’t know how to use the overlock stitch – reckon I’d better get with the program and see if my machine even does that!

Leave a comment