Sewing

Yes, I made this too: Simplicity 2444, Simplicty 3877, Lutterloh 87

Last week was our pastor’s 6th anniversary and there was a week long celebration. Each day a different color was chosen for all to wear to the festivities. Ah, yes! the perfect excuse to make stuff. I didn’t have a coral or a blue dress to wear so I decided to challenge myself to make them. All week people asked me if I had made what I was wearing. A crafters dream! Yes I made them, quirks. mistakes, and all.

Quilter’s cotton  was the fabric of choice this time keeping the cost down.

For the coral dress I made Simplicity 2444 with the contrasting cape collar and matching waist tie.

Simplicity 2444 Pattern
Simplicity 2444 Pattern

I decided to use muslin as a lining to give the dress some weight. This dress was easy to sew and had some ineresting waist darts and pleats in the skirt. I like the pockets on this one too, nice and generous enough to stash your keys and emergency candy in them.

Simplicity 2444
Simplicity 2444
Simplicity 2444 has very convenient pockets.
Simplicity 2444 has very convenient pockets.
I lined this dress with muslin. you can see the interesting waist dart detail  in this picture
I lined this dress with muslin. you can see the interesting waist dart detail in this picture
Muslin underskirt
Muslin underskirt
I finished the collar using the overedge stitch and added my initials with a heart for fun.
I finished the collar using the overedge stitch and added my initials with a heart for fun.
Simplicity 2444 Back
Simplicity 2444 Back

For the blue dress I used Simplicity 3877. The dress has 8 godets in the skirt which gives the otherwise simple design lots of movement. There are lots of style configurations to explore with this pattern. Different sleeves, sashes, bodices and skirt lengths.

Simplicity 3877
Simplicity 3877
Simplicity 3877 sketch Had I looked at the sketch before I bought this pattern I may have shyed away from the godets. So glad I tried this one. Godets are easy to do.
Simplicity 3877 sketch
Had I looked at the sketch before I bought this pattern I may have shyed away from the godets. So glad I tried this one. Godets are easy to do.

This dress will get a lot of wear for sure. It was surprisingly easy to make although my mandarin collar came out less than perfect. The front opening rolls outward in the front instead of sitting against my neck. If I make it again I will do the mock wrap variation.

Simplicity 3877 with sash, short sleeve and madarin collar variation
Simplicity 3877 with sash, short sleeve and madarin collar variation
Simplicity 3877  Loving the godets in the skirt
Simplicity 3877
Loving the godets in the skirt

Simplicity 3877 flare

Simplicity 3877 Back
Simplicity 3877 Back

I didn’t have time to make anything with lavendar so I wore a skirt that I already owned with a top I made a few months ago with  Lutterloh pattern 87. It’s a simple wrap top with shoulder darts. The fabric is from an old sateen sheet set I had.  I forgot how much I really like this top. Need another ASAP.

Lutterloh Wraps shirt 87
Lutterloh Wraps shirt 87
Lutterloh patterns come condensed in a catalog. You trace them using a special ruler to enlarge them to your personal measurements
Lutterloh patterns come condensed in a catalog. You trace them using a special ruler to enlarge them to your personal measurements.

 

My Lutterloh 87 top made from an old sateen bedsheet
My Lutterloh 87 top made from an old sateen bedsheet

2 thoughts on “Yes, I made this too: Simplicity 2444, Simplicty 3877, Lutterloh 87”

Leave a comment