Sewing

Wardrobe Essentials: Make it Easy Simplicity 1620 and Sew Chic

Not too long ago re-making my wardrobe seemed pretty far-fetched. At my rate it would take forever. I got to thinking about what I wear on a daily basis. I realized that most of the patterns in my stash were more tailored than what I would typically choose for an easy, fuss free day.

Now this might be a Midwest thing but truth be told, when I’m not working, on an outing, or going to church you will most likely find me in some knit pants with t-shirt or jeans with t-shirt. I know, I know, I need to mix it up right?

I started looking for easy chill clothes and found Simplicity 1620. It is a simple wardrobe that has pull-on pants, a dress, tunic, short 2 piece jacket, long 2 piece jacket and a sash. No zippers, no buttons, no fuss. Fast and Easy sewing.

Simple Wardrobe: Simplicty 1620 and Sew Chic
Simple Wardrobe: Simplicty 1620 and Sew Chic

I bought linen blend fabric in different colors and got to sewing. I made no major alterations since the patterns have a lot of ease. In about 3 days I had made:

  • 2 pairs of pull on pants
  • 3 shirts
  • a short jacket
  • a long kacket
  • a dress
  • 2 sashes
  • Bolero jacket (from Sew Chic Japanese sewing book)
    Wow that's a lot of lint. Beware when you are drying Linen/Rayon blend fabric. You may want to clear the lint trap a few times while drying.
    Wow that’s a lot of lint. Beware when you are drying Linen/Rayon blend fabric. You may want to clear the lint trap a few times while drying.
    Linen/Rayon blend fabric. Very soft and drapey. I didn't even need to iron it.
    Linen/Rayon blend fabric. Very soft and drapey. I didn’t even need to iron it.
    Simplicity 1620 long jacket with 2 sided sash and brown pull-on pants
    Simplicity 1620 long jacket with 2 sided sash and brown pull-on pants
    Yellow top. I used the box pleated side. (Pattern calls for tucks)
    Yellow top. I used the box pleated side. (Pattern calls for tucks)
    Close-up of pleat detail. I also top stitched with a simple running stitch.
    Close-up of pleat detail. I also top stitched with a simple running stitch.
    Simplicity 1620 dress with sash
    Simplicity 1620 dress with sash
    Simplicity 1620 dress with short jacket
    Simplicity 1620 dress with short jacket
    I finally figured out what to do with 1/2 yard of this cool linen fabric I bought a few months ago
    I finally figured out what to do with 1/2 yard of this cool linen fabric I bought a few months ago
    Simplicity 1620 Tunic. I made one large pleat instead of 3 so that I wouldn't obscure the print as much
    Simplicity 1620 Tunic. I made one large pleat instead of 3 so that I wouldn’t obscure the print as much

    Simpicity 1620 tunic
    Simpicity 1620 tunic

Happy with the result I kept looking for more. Unfortunately I didn’t find too many more simple wardrobes like this one in the Big 4 pattern catalogs. Thank goodness for Pintrest though. I discovered Japanese clothing patterns.

My goodness. There are so many simple, easy to wear designs and they have started to publish them in English! My favorite Japanese designer at the moment is Yoshiko Tsukiori. I have her book Happy Homemade Sew Chic: 20 Simple Everyday Designs. Love it!

Simple instructions with diagrams. Jacket has only 3 patterns pieces
Simple instructions with diagrams. Jacket has only 3 patterns pieces
Simplcity 1630 dress with Sew Chic Jersey Style Bolero
Simplcity 1630 dress with Sew Chic Jersey Style Bolero

 

There are a few base patterns (graded up to American sizes) that have a bunch of style variations to mix and sew. The instructions are easy to follow with lots of diagrams. So far I have made the Jersey Style Bolero jacket. It only takes 3 pattern pieces to make. Easy, Peasy. I have more patterns cut out ready to sew. I will continue exploring  Japanese clothing style for sure.

Leave a comment